Foundations of Mathematics, Grade 9MFM 1PMr. Lieff
Online Homework Help http://homeworkhelp.ilc.org/chat/index.php
5:30 - 9:30 Sunday - Thursday night
You can search for topics and read popular chats.
You need to get your OEN from Guidance.

Grade 9 Formula Sheets and Past Tests
http://www.eqao.com/Students/Secondary/09/09.aspx?Lang=E&gr=09


Virtual Manipulatives

Virtual Pattern Blocks http://nlvm.usu.edu/en/nav/frames_asid_171_g_4_t_2.html

FILES


Course Outline

MSIP / HOME LEARNING

Unit 1 - Measurement MFM1P Ch1 Notes.pdf (updated Feb 15/13)

Monday, February 4, 2013
1.1 pp. 5–6 #1–4, 7
Tuesday, February 5, 2013
1.2 pp. 9-10 #(1-2) ac, 4, 6, 7, 8, 10
Demonstration of the Pythagorean Theorem http://www.gignac.org/jim/pythagoras/30.html
Wednesday, February 6, 2013
1.3 pp. 12-14 #1, 3, 4, 6
Thursday, February 7, 2013
1.4 pp. 16-18 #1-5
Tuesday, February 12, 2013
1.5 pp. 23-24 #1-4, 7
Wednesday, February 13, 2012
1.6 pp. 26-28 #1, (2-3)ab, 4, 7
Thursday, February 14, 2012
Friday, February 15, 2012
1.7 pp. 31-32 #1a, 2b, 3b, 5a, 7 (challenging)

1.8 pp. 35 – 36 #(3-4)ac, 5, (6 or 7)

Review pp. 38 – 39 #1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14, 15






Doodling in Math Class: Infinity Elephants (Fractals) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DK5Z709J2eo

Unit 2 - Optimizing Rectangles
Monday, February 25, 2013
pp. 45 – 46 # 4-7, 9
Tuesday, February 26, 2013
p. 51 #1
Thursday, February 28, 2013
Review pp. 70-71 #2-4, 6-8
Monday, March 4, 2013
pp. 63-64 #3 i and ii, 5 (read Ex on bottom of p. 62), 7













Unit 3 - Triangles, Angles and Polygons


p. 77 #2-10

p. 83 #1-7, 7

p. 89 #1-6

pp. 97 – 98 #2, 4, 7, 8a*

pp. 101-102 #2 – 6, 9

pp. 106-107 #2-11









FixedPerimArea.gsp
TriangleAngles.gsp
Parallel.gsp

Transversal - A line that intersects two or more parallel lines
transversal.gif
Interactive Transversal and Angles

OntarioHighSchoolStudents1.ftm

Doodling in Math Class: Stars (Polygons) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CfJzrmS9UfY

Unit 4 - Proportional Reasoning

Monday, April 15, 2013
pp. 112 - 114 #(1-3)ac, 7, 8, 10
Thursday, April 18, 2013
pp. 117 – 118 #(1-3)ac, 4, 6 – 9, 12
Friday, April 19, 2013
pp. 123 – 124 #(1-2)ac, 4-9
Tuesday, April 24, 2013
pp. 129 – 130 #1, 3, 5, 7 – 10

pp. 133–134 #1ace, 2ac, 3, 4, 5











Unit 5 - Graphing Relations






Monday, May 14, 2013
The Pendulum http://www.physics.uoguelph.ca/applets/Intro_physics/kisalev/java/pend1/index.html













Coordinate Whack-A-Mole http://www.coolschool.ca/content/display.php?file=content/math7/whackamole

Unit 6 - Linear Relations

Tuesday, May 21, 2013
pp. 199-200 #1, 2, 4
Tuesday, May 21, 2013
pp. 203-4 #1, 4, 7
Wednesday, May 22, 2013
pp. 207 - 210 #1, 3, 4
Thursday, May 24, 2013
pp. 213 - 216 #1, 2, 5
Thursday, May 30, 2013
pp. 229-230 # (1-4) ace, 7
Monday, June 3, 2013
Read p. 232 Connect the Ideas
pp. 233-234 1, 2, 4
Tuesday, June 4, 2013
Read p. 236 Connect the Ideas
pp. 237 - #1-3, 7







Unit 7 - Polynomials

Thursday, June 6, 2013
Algebra Tiles http://nlvm.usu.edu/en/nav/topic_t_2.html
pp. 255-256 #6, 8, 9, 10
Friday, June 7, 2013
pp. 259-260 #(3-4)ace, 6, 7, 8ace, 9
pp. 265-266 #5-7 (ace), 8, 10

pp. 271-272 #3, (7-9)ace, 10